Seth is 21 + another haiku

October 23, 2006 § Leave a comment

Dear Seth,

Happy Birthday. I’ll bet you don’t have any plans at all, aside from maybe picking up a CD at Bull Moose on your way to work. I’m writing to change your mind! And convince you to go nuts! And then write to me about it! Because the best stories told around the holiday table are never about working. In our family the best stories usually about either machetes and “junk cars” or drunken snowmobiling. But I expect more of you than that.

My plans for my 21st birthday included an apprenticeship to a traditional cuckoo clock maker in the Black Forest, and being the toast of the villagers who all turn out to celebrate at the local gasthaus. There was to be much sloshing of Pilesner from the tankards, and consumption of local sausages (by others) and local pastries (by me). Also, lederhosen and accordian music, because in my imagination the Black Forest exists around 1858.

Alas, it did not come to pass.

In fact, I can’t even remember what I did on my 21st birthday— and not for the reason you just thought, dammit.

So, this one time only, I hope you take the demon’s advice. Embrace spontaneity, and do something really memorable.

And now, a haiku, entitled So Please Be Generous.

Primogeniture,
The Age of Majority,
You have it all now.

Love, Kristina

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seth is 21 + another haiku at Tempest in a Teacup.

meta

