Hallowe’en

November 1, 2006 § Leave a comment

Since there’s no sign of a young trick-or-treating contingent in Lunenburg, we went back to Halifax for the night. My sister-in-law has a lovely home in a prime South End neighborhood and she knows I really like the holiday, so she kindly invited us to dinner and a sleepover.

I’d already accepted his sister’s invitation before we were abruptly informed that Richard had an appointment with a neurosurgeon at 8:30 this morning, which would have been nearly impossible to keep otherwise. Apparently we were informed by mail, but I guess some people have trouble with the concept of a post office box. But we did already know about the neurologist appointment late in the afternoon, so the timing of appointments worked out for once.

Richard contributed the vomiter, and I carved the other eight. Not very original, I know, but I had trouble getting into the spirit of things this year. And really, people are so into orange lights and fog machines now, it’s pretty easy to awe Haligonians with pumpkin carving. The weather was perfect, the majority of trick-or-treaters were polite and prompt with their lines (luckily for them, since I award treats based on merit), dinner was tasty. It was a really nice evening.

And now I present a photo series entitled Like Lambs to the Slaughter: Wholesale Butchery of Innocent Cucurbita*

*I was working on a t-shirt for one of my sisters-in-law who was running a special vacation tour for the family and friends of a cancer patient between her rounds of chemo. We were discussing possible phrases to put on the shirt— “Sarah Support Tour” etc.— when one of the employees came out and said, “You should really call [my wife]. She’s great at naming things and stuff like that.”

Thenceforth, I, too, have endeavored to be good at naming things and stuff like that.

November 1, 2006; 9:10pm AST

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hallowe’en at Tempest in a Teacup.

meta

