And also the one in The Accidental Tourist

November 11, 2006 § Leave a comment

And also the one in The Accidental Tourist

What’s the draw of Florida, can someone please explain? I’ve only been once, in June of 2001, and it was stifling. The only bearable part of the day was late afternoon after the violent thunderstorms. It was too hot to swim, too humid to breathe, too loud to read (thanks to what must have been a disastrous early prototype to the air conditioner)… so my grandfather and mother teamed up to teach me to play cribbage. It took the two of them three whole days, and I’m still not very good.

In fact, I haven’t won a game in about two years, since the only person who’ll play with me is my mother, and when I win she accuses me of “cheatin’ somehow” (does your mother ever do that, Internet? assume her own inclinations are everyone’s inclinations, and then accuse you of what she would have done in your place? it’s infuriating, isn’t it?)

Anyway, the only other game I can play is Black Jack (since I don’t think Uno really counts) and that’s not much fun. But card games do interest me, and I’ve compiled a list of games I’d like to see revived:

Écarté
Whist
Primero
Conquian
Shapkopf
Baccarat

November 11, 2006; 10:30pm AST

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And also the one in The Accidental Tourist at Tempest in a Teacup.

meta

