Our very own Endurance Expedition

November 25, 2007 § 1 Comment

Although this is hardly my first winter in the Great Olive-Green-or-maybe-Brownish North, for one reason or other I am freshly surprised every year by how cold my feet can become whilst remaining attached to my body. I am assured by credible sources that they would stay warmer if I didn’t eschew woolen socks so vigorously. He might be on to something, but barefot was I born and barefoot shall I die. And yet.

I am no stranger to cold toes. In Maine, I ended up barefoot in the snow several times each winter trying to unearth the dog’s rope, and my feet never got as cold then as they do now, indoors and resting atop a heat vent. There is Something Different about this cold. It is ferocious and subtle and creeps into my bones and joints. Even when I’m bundled up better than Shackleton on South Georgia, I can feel it.

So last month I asked the hive mind what more I could do to keep the cold out and the warm in. They came up with some cool ideas I wouldn’t have considered— like stapling felt to the bedroom walls and using styrofoam insulation in the basement. The whole thread is pretty useful, if you’re trying to move beyond the basic winterization steps.

But I’d be remiss if I didn’t mine your wisdom and experience, too, Dear Readers. What secrets do you use for saving the heat? Just an extra splash of amaretto in the hot chocolate, or do you swear by polar fleece? Is anyone out there passionately devoted to geothermic heat?

Also falling under the banner of me, elsewhere: we made Cliché Rotation Project: Round II. I urge each of you to adopt at least two or three or these into your vernacular; they’re great to trot out at parties.

§ One Response to Our very own Endurance Expedition

  • Nancy Bond says:

    What secrets do you use for saving the heat? Just an extra splash of amaretto in the hot chocolate, or do you swear by polar fleece?

    I’m all for the extra amaretto! The apartment we currently live in radiates heat from the walls and floors from the hot water pipes which feed each apartment and supply the hot water baseboard heating. This is great in the winter, but hideous in the summer. So it’s only on very cold days that we actually hike the thermostat up.

    Polar fleece is great, as are loosely knit wool sweaters (if you don’t mind the itch). For cold feet, I’d recommend those “fleece” lined, thermal slippers, and Richard’s back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our very own Endurance Expedition at Tempest in a Teacup.

meta

