Petit Hibou

May 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been busy working on a little something else, too. Meet Petit Hibou:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hoo, his insides are messy. But I guess everyone’s are.

I intended to make myself a pair of wrist warmers, but finding the second skein of yarn would have required excavating the storage closet to a greater extent than I have energy for. The yarn had always reminded me of owls, anyway, so this is better.

I used up some stash ends for the top of his head and bottom (not pictured, and not attached in those shots. I was so surprised and excited to see that he looked not-too-terribly wonky. For me, this constitutes a major knitting success. Worked entirely in garter stitch, no less.

It’s the very forgiving and fluffy nature of the main body yarn that makes it look acceptable, but nonetheless — wahoo! Now I’ll probably get in way over my head and try my hand at things like a jelly bean cushion cover or, (the peak and pinnacle of perfection) The Clapotis.

I’ve since knit and attached his bottom, and (over-)filled him with polyfill left over from some pillows that came with our couch. I’m hoping we’ll get to a fabric store at some point over this long weekend in order to procure some felt for two big eyes and a beak.

+++

Count Tolstoy at Home (particularly apt since we finally watched The Last Station last weekend — while I was knitting Petit Hibou’s body, in fact.)

Another, more delicious, Petit Hibou

Join my book club. We’re meeting on Thursday to discuss The Book of Negroes. THERE WILL BE SNACKS.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Petit Hibou at Tempest in a Teacup.

meta

